This is topic Doremi DCP 2000 deleting problem in forum Digital Cinema Forum at Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE.
To visit this topic, use this URL:
https://ft-forum.com/ft/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=16;t=001397
Posted by Amanda Mundin (Member # 3386) on 02-26-2013, 07:07 AM:
The last two films I have deleted from our Doremi server have shown very little more available space, when I know they should have freed up a lot of space, one was The Hobbit which should be in the region of 260gb and the other Monsters Inc at 173gb. After deleting Monsters Inc, on the ingest screen it suggested it had only freed up about 10gb of space, we have been running the server for over 5 years and haven't come across this problem before. The films aren't showing up as still on the server, have the films not deleted properly or might the available space be reading wrong?
Posted by Carsten Kurz (Member # 5396) on 02-26-2013, 09:48 AM:
Which software version is the Doremi running?
- Carsten
Posted by Amanda Mundin (Member # 3386) on 02-26-2013, 01:56 PM:
It turns out to be a simple fix, went to Diagnostic Tool, Storage, Analyze and ran Disc Cleanup. I was aware that the system held onto some unneeded files, but after running the Disc Cleanup it got rid of in the region of 700gb of unneeded files, had no idea it would hold onto that much.
Posted by Marco Giustini (Member # 4544) on 02-27-2013, 02:53 PM:
Correct. You need to run that every now and then.
Posted by Steve R Pike (Member # 6238) on 03-17-2013, 03:14 PM:
Amanda - I had the same problem when I deleted The Hobbit after the final showing. The space available didn't seem to budge!
I deleted the feature via CineLister - but, for some reason, it actually didn't fully delete it.
We found a nifty tool when we had an upgrade under Control Panel > Content Manager. This lists everything that has been loaded onto the server and you can delete the items. This was where I found that the Hobbit was actually still loaded - quick delete and space suddenly appeared.
Incidently - does anyone know how to delete a feature after it has been shown without having to re-boot the server? If I am showing a film and it's the last showing - I want to delete it right away. However when I come to delete it, because it's the last played playlist - it won't let me. The only way I can is if I reboot the server (so that the 'playback' tab is clear - no current playlist) and then I can delete? Anyone know how I can do this without this reboot?
Posted by Lindsay Ross (Member # 6103) on 03-17-2013, 04:30 PM:
Hi Steve,
I create a playlist with an advert, then play it manually.
Once it's started to play you can delete the feature without restarting the server.
Posted by Aleksandar Obradovic (Member # 7266) on 04-11-2013, 03:26 PM:
Or you can simply eject SPL from playback tab and then remove CPL. i tried it at new doremi sw version.
BR Alexander
Posted by Dave Macaulay (Member # 813) on 04-11-2013, 07:02 PM:
And you can not delete a DCP that's in a future schedule. But you should be able to delete one if it's not loaded: you may have to hit "new" in editor to bring up a blank playlist. I have come across a situation where the server had to be rebooted though, I suppose some flag was not cleared properly.
Posted by Aleksandar Obradovic (Member # 7266) on 04-12-2013, 12:25 PM:
Hopefully it is not windows with his "file locked by process" problem/bug
Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM
6.3.1.2